Back to All Events

Piedmont, CA: PCMF's Wednesday Concert

  • Piedmont Center for the Arts 801 Magnolia Avenue Piedmont, CA 94611 (map)

The opening concert of PCMF's 2017 season begins with Mozart's effervescent and joyful Flute and Harp Concerto — music for a celebration as only Mozart could have written. The Brahms Clarinet Sonata in E-flat turns inward to plumb emotional depths, from turbulent passion to soaring romanticism. The program ends with one of the Formosa Quartet's best-loved pieces, arranged by none other than first violinist Jasmine Lin. Her take on well-loved Grappelli jazz tunes brings quartet playing to an entirely raucous, riotous, and rousing level.

Mozart: Flute and Harp Concerto in C major, K. 299
     Joshua Smith, flute
     Julie Smith Phillips, harp
     Formosa Quartet

Brahms: Clarinet Sonata in E-flat major, Op. 120 No. 1
     Alexander Fiterstein, clarinet
     Juliana Han, piano


Four Grappelli Jazz Tunes arranged by Jasmine Lin
     Formosa Quartet